Sundance 2015: How Are You Experiencing the Festival?

by Shala · January 22, 2015 · Articles, Featured, Features · No Comments

sundance_film_festival_2015_logo_detail-e1417821102129The 31st Sundance Film Festival kicks off today! If you’re into independent film like me, it’s a time to celebrate the start of the new crop of films, which may be the new Whiplash and Boyhood, 2014 Sundance debut films that made its way down the long, arduous road a year later to the Oscars. How are you getting involved in the festival?

Sundanc’ing from Home

  • Live @ Sundance”. The Sundance Film Festival YouTube channel will livestream the following events so you can get in on the action from home:
    • Thursday, Jan. 22 at noon PT / 1:00 p.m. MT / 3:00 p.m. ET
      Day One Press Conference with Robert Redford (President & Founder, Sundance Institute), Keri Putnam (Executive Director, Sundance Institute) and John Cooper (Director, Sundance Film Festival)
    • Friday, Jan. 23 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe (programmed with TimesTalks) with Leslye Headland (“Sleeping with Other People”) and Melissa Rauch (“The Bronze”) with Logan Hill  (The New York Times)
    • Saturday, Jan. 24 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe (programmed with TimesTalks) with Tig Notaro (“Tig”) and Sarah Silverman (“I Smile Back”) with Cara Buckley (The New York Times)
    • Saturday, Jan. 24 at 2:00 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. ET
      Power of Story: Serious Ladies panel featuring Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, Jenji Kohan and Kristen Wiig with Emily Nussbaum (The New Yorker).
    • Sunday, Jan. 25 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe (programmed with TimesTalks) with Jack Reynor (“Glassland”) and Saoirse Ronan (“Stockholm, Pennsylvania,” “Brooklyn”) with Cara Buckley (The New York Times)
    • Monday, Jan. 26 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe with Bobcat Goldthwait (“Call Me Lucky”) and Johnny Knoxville (“Being Evel”) with Mike Plante (Sundance Film Festival)
    • Tuesday, Jan. 27 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe with guests (TBD)
    • Wednesday, Jan. 28 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe with Doug Aitken (“Station to Station”) and Guy Maddin (“The Forbidden Room”) with Dennis Scholl (Knight Foundation)
    • Thursday, Jan. 29 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe with guests (TBD)
    • Thursday, Jan. 29 at 5:00 p.m. PT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 8:00 p.m. ET
      Power of Story: Visions of Independence panel featuring Robert Redford and George Lucas with Leonard Maltin
    • Friday, Jan. 30 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe with Jared Hess (“Don Verdean”) and Edgar Wright (“The World’s End”)
    • Saturday, Jan. 31 at 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET
      Cinema Cafe with Bryan Buckley (“The Bronze”) and Charles Stone III (“Lila & Eve”)
    • Saturday, Jan. 31 at 6:00 p.m. PT / 7:00 p.m. MT / 9:00 p.m. ET
      Awards Ceremony hosted by Tig Notaro
  • Sundance on Social Media. Stay connected to all the goings on in Park City straight from Sundance through these social media platforms:
    Twitter: @sundancefest@sundancefestnow
    Facebook: @Sundance Film Festival
    Pinterest: @Sundance Film Festival
    Instagram: @SundanceInstitute
    Tumblr: Sundance Institute
    Google +: Sundance Institute / Film Festival
    Vine: SundanceFilm

Sundanc’ing in Person

  • Also going to Sundance 2015 and covering the festival on your blog? Let me know (maybe we can met up!) and I will post a link to your coverage on LAMB. Email me. Also, use #sundanceLAMB on twitter so we can track everyone around Park City!
  • I will be attending the first half of Sundance from January 23-28. Be sure to follow me on instagram for in-the-moment photos as well as twitter for my live tweeting of the festival (who I meet, what I see, what I do)! I’ll be posting here my thoughts on films I screen as well at The Cinematic Katzenjammer and talking about my experiences on my blog Life Between Films

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.